whatpocketcameras

Choose the right pocket camera for you!

  • Ricoh THETA X
  • Ricoh THETA X

Ricoh

THETA X

Ricoh THETA X (2022) 360° camera specs, 1/2.0-inch sensor. Video, stabilization, battery and more.

360° · Announced 2022-01-25

Shop prices can differ.

  • 1/2.0-inch sensor
  • Electronic stabilization
  • GPS
  • 30 min rated runtime
  • 170 g

Video modes

  • 1010-bit (no badge: 8-bit; unstated bit depth counts as 8-bit)
  • LLog
  • HDRHDR
  • SStabilized
  • HL360° horizon lock
  • cropCropped
  • Recording limit (minutes)
  • fwAdded by a firmware update
  • ?Not stated, e.g. S? (stabilization not stated)
360° video
Resolution2 fps5 fps10 fps15 fps30 fps60 fps
8K 360 2:1

8K 360 2:1 · 2 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
Firmware
Since firmware 1.20.0
  • Spec: 8K/10fps 120/96/40 Mbps (*), 8K/2fps 64/32/16 Mbps; 5fps listed in Ricoh API spec. Added in firmware 1.20.0 (2022-07). Low-frame-rate 'walkthrough' modes; max recordable time up to 120 min from fw 2.00.0. (*) top bitrate tier 'Available when the wireless LAN is off or when power is supplied via the AC Adaptor K-AC166 ... connected without the battery inserted.' No 10-bit/Log/HDR video listed.

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

8K 360 2:1 · 5 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
Firmware
Since firmware 1.20.0
  • Spec: 8K/10fps 120/96/40 Mbps (*), 8K/2fps 64/32/16 Mbps; 5fps listed in Ricoh API spec. Added in firmware 1.20.0 (2022-07). Low-frame-rate 'walkthrough' modes; max recordable time up to 120 min from fw 2.00.0. (*) top bitrate tier 'Available when the wireless LAN is off or when power is supplied via the AC Adaptor K-AC166 ... connected without the battery inserted.' No 10-bit/Log/HDR video listed.

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

8K 360 2:1 · 10 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
Firmware
Since firmware 1.20.0
  • Spec: 8K/10fps 120/96/40 Mbps (*), 8K/2fps 64/32/16 Mbps; 5fps listed in Ricoh API spec. Added in firmware 1.20.0 (2022-07). Low-frame-rate 'walkthrough' modes; max recordable time up to 120 min from fw 2.00.0. (*) top bitrate tier 'Available when the wireless LAN is off or when power is supplied via the AC Adaptor K-AC166 ... connected without the battery inserted.' No 10-bit/Log/HDR video listed.

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

5.7K 360 2:1

5.7K 360 2:1 · 2 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • 5.7K/30fps 120/64/32 Mbps (*); 5.7K/10fps 80/60/40 Mbps (*); 5.7K/2fps 16/12/8 Mbps; 5 and 15fps listed in API spec. 10/2fps selectable on camera from fw 2.30.0. Per-clip limit selectable 5 or 25 min (_maxRecordableTime 300/1500 s). (*) top bitrate tier 'Available when the wireless LAN is off or when power is supplied via the AC Adaptor K-AC166 ... connected without the battery inserted.'

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

5.7K 360 2:1 · 5 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • 5.7K/30fps 120/64/32 Mbps (*); 5.7K/10fps 80/60/40 Mbps (*); 5.7K/2fps 16/12/8 Mbps; 5 and 15fps listed in API spec. 10/2fps selectable on camera from fw 2.30.0. Per-clip limit selectable 5 or 25 min (_maxRecordableTime 300/1500 s). (*) top bitrate tier 'Available when the wireless LAN is off or when power is supplied via the AC Adaptor K-AC166 ... connected without the battery inserted.'

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

5.7K 360 2:1 · 10 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • 5.7K/30fps 120/64/32 Mbps (*); 5.7K/10fps 80/60/40 Mbps (*); 5.7K/2fps 16/12/8 Mbps; 5 and 15fps listed in API spec. 10/2fps selectable on camera from fw 2.30.0. Per-clip limit selectable 5 or 25 min (_maxRecordableTime 300/1500 s). (*) top bitrate tier 'Available when the wireless LAN is off or when power is supplied via the AC Adaptor K-AC166 ... connected without the battery inserted.'

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

5.7K 360 2:1 · 15 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • 5.7K/30fps 120/64/32 Mbps (*); 5.7K/10fps 80/60/40 Mbps (*); 5.7K/2fps 16/12/8 Mbps; 5 and 15fps listed in API spec. 10/2fps selectable on camera from fw 2.30.0. Per-clip limit selectable 5 or 25 min (_maxRecordableTime 300/1500 s). (*) top bitrate tier 'Available when the wireless LAN is off or when power is supplied via the AC Adaptor K-AC166 ... connected without the battery inserted.'

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

5.7K 360 2:1 · 30 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • 5.7K/30fps 120/64/32 Mbps (*); 5.7K/10fps 80/60/40 Mbps (*); 5.7K/2fps 16/12/8 Mbps; 5 and 15fps listed in API spec. 10/2fps selectable on camera from fw 2.30.0. Per-clip limit selectable 5 or 25 min (_maxRecordableTime 300/1500 s). (*) top bitrate tier 'Available when the wireless LAN is off or when power is supplied via the AC Adaptor K-AC166 ... connected without the battery inserted.'

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

4K 360 2:1

4K 360 2:1 · 10 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • 4K/60fps 120/64/32 Mbps (*); 4K/30fps 100/54/32 Mbps; 10/15fps listed in API spec. Per-clip limit selectable 5 or 25 min (_maxRecordableTime 300/1500 s). (*) top bitrate tier 'Available when the wireless LAN is off or when power is supplied via the AC Adaptor K-AC166 ... connected without the battery inserted.'

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

4K 360 2:1 · 15 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • 4K/60fps 120/64/32 Mbps (*); 4K/30fps 100/54/32 Mbps; 10/15fps listed in API spec. Per-clip limit selectable 5 or 25 min (_maxRecordableTime 300/1500 s). (*) top bitrate tier 'Available when the wireless LAN is off or when power is supplied via the AC Adaptor K-AC166 ... connected without the battery inserted.'

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

4K 360 2:1 · 30 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • 4K/60fps 120/64/32 Mbps (*); 4K/30fps 100/54/32 Mbps; 10/15fps listed in API spec. Per-clip limit selectable 5 or 25 min (_maxRecordableTime 300/1500 s). (*) top bitrate tier 'Available when the wireless LAN is off or when power is supplied via the AC Adaptor K-AC166 ... connected without the battery inserted.'

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

4K 360 2:1 · 60 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • 4K/60fps 120/64/32 Mbps (*); 4K/30fps 100/54/32 Mbps; 10/15fps listed in API spec. Per-clip limit selectable 5 or 25 min (_maxRecordableTime 300/1500 s). (*) top bitrate tier 'Available when the wireless LAN is off or when power is supplied via the AC Adaptor K-AC166 ... connected without the battery inserted.'

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

2K 360 2:1

2K 360 2:1 · 30 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • Spec page lists 2K/30fps 32/16/8 Mbps; 60fps appears only in API fileFormat list.

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

2K 360 2:1 · 60 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • Spec page lists 2K/30fps 32/16/8 Mbps; 60fps appears only in API fileFormat list.

Source: ricoh360.com/theta/

2.7K dual-fisheye (unstitched) 1:1 per lens

2.7K dual-fisheye (unstitched) 1:1 per lens · 2 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
Firmware
Since firmware 2.50.2
  • Outputs two fisheye MP4s (one per lens); firmware 2.50.2+, API-only per developer docs.

Source: github.com/ricohapi/theta-api-specs/blob/main/theta-web-api-v2.1/options/file_format.md

2.7K dual-fisheye (unstitched) 1:1 per lens · 5 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
Firmware
Since firmware 2.50.2
  • Outputs two fisheye MP4s (one per lens); firmware 2.50.2+, API-only per developer docs.

Source: github.com/ricohapi/theta-api-specs/blob/main/theta-web-api-v2.1/options/file_format.md

2.7K dual-fisheye (unstitched) 1:1 per lens · 10 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
Firmware
Since firmware 2.50.2
  • Outputs two fisheye MP4s (one per lens); firmware 2.50.2+, API-only per developer docs.

Source: github.com/ricohapi/theta-api-specs/blob/main/theta-web-api-v2.1/options/file_format.md

2.7K dual-fisheye (unstitched) 1:1 per lens · 30 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
Firmware
Since firmware 2.50.2
  • Outputs two fisheye MP4s (one per lens); firmware 2.50.2+, API-only per developer docs.

Source: github.com/ricohapi/theta-api-specs/blob/main/theta-web-api-v2.1/options/file_format.md

Caveats

  • Highest bitrate tier only with Wi-Fi off or on AC adapter without battery.Source
  • Mono audio only; H.264 only — no 10-bit, Log or HDR video listed.Source
  • Not weather sealed; operating range 0–40°C.Source
  • 8K video playback only in desktop app (not camera/phone app) per fw 1.20 notes.Source
  • Release date 3/2022 per archived theta360.com spec page ('Release date 3/2022').Source

Thermals

  • At launch: 'The maximum shooting time for recording 5.7K/30 fps and 4K/60 fps videos is approx. 10 minutes (at an ambient temperature of 25°C)'; 4K30 live streaming ~25 min at 25°C.Source
  • Firmware 2.00.0 (2023-04-12) raised the thermal-shutdown surface temperature, 'significantly' extending operating time on serials YR11–YR15; camera runs hotter.Source

Firmware notes

  • 2022-04-19: 1.10.1: 2K/30 live streaming mode.Source
  • 2022-07-20: 1.20.0: 8K 10fps and 8K 2fps video added.Source
  • 2022-12-20: 1.40.0: 8K bitrates changed (10fps 120/96/40; 2fps 64/32/16 Mbps); TW-2 underwater stitching option.Source
  • 2023-01-24: 1.41.0: improved stabilization for minor shakes (monopod); top/bottom correction behaviour upside-down.Source
  • 2023-04-12: 2.00.0: higher thermal-shutdown threshold → much longer operating time; top/bottom correction can be disabled in USB live streaming.Source
  • 2023-10-17: 2.30.0: 5.7K 10fps and 5.7K 2fps selectable on camera.Source
  • 2024-01-16: 2.40.0: Handheld HDR still mode.Source
  • 2024-04-18: 2.50.2: low-light noise reduction for 5.7K 10/2fps; mic 'Mute' option; dual-fisheye video output (API).Source
  • 2024-09-18: 2.61.0: HDR-DNG RAW plug-in pre-installed.Source
  • 2026-09-17: Latest listed firmware 2.94.0.Source

Which camera is right for you?

RicohTHETA X (current camera)Not statedCheck price on AmazonAKASO360$199.99Check price on AmazonGoProMAX$499.99Check price on Amazon
Announced2022-01-252025-07-07Not stated
Sensor size1/2.0-inch1/2-inch1/2.3-inch (x2)
StabilizationElectronicElectronicElectronic
Horizon levelingNot stated360°360°
WaterproofNoneNone5 m
Weight170 g180 g159 g
Battery runtime30 min60 minNot stated
Compare all specs

Specifications

Overview

Category
360°
Announced
2022-01-25
Released
2022-03
Status
current
US availability
Not stated
Features
  • Android-based plug-ins
  • HDR rendering / Handheld HDR (fw 2.40)
  • Multi-bracket
  • Time shift
  • Interval
  • AI Auto playback orientation
  • Underwater Housing TW-2 stitching mode

Sensor & lens

Sensor size
1/2.0-inch
Sensor resolution
48 MP
Lens (equiv.)
Not stated
Aperture
f/2.4
Field of view
Not stated
Built-in ND
No

Video & photo

Video modes
  • 8K 360
  • 5.7K 360
  • 4K 360
  • 2K 360
  • 2.7K dual-fisheye (unstitched)
Max resolution
Not stated
10-bit Log up to
None
Uncropped 4K
None
Codecs
  • H.264
4:2:2 chroma
Not stated
Max bitrate
120 Mbps
Photo resolution
60 MP
RAW photos
HDR-DNG (16-bit float DNG) via pre-installed plug-in from fw 2.61.0

Stabilization

Stabilization
Electronic
Horizon lock
None
Horizon leveling
Not stated

Audio

Microphones
Not stated
Mic input
Not stated
Mic input details
Not stated
Direct wireless mic
Not stated
32-bit float audio
No

Build & battery

Waterproof
None
Water and dust rating
Not stated
Drop-proof
Not stated
Weight
170 g
Dimensions
51.7x136.2x29.0
Mount
1/4-inch tripod socket
Battery runtime
30 min
Battery capacity
1350 mAh
Removable battery
Yes
Charging power
Not stated

Screens & storage

Rear screen
2.25-inch TFT LCD 360x640 touch
Front screen
Not stated
Touchscreen
Yes
Memory card
microSDXC (64GB+, UHS-I V30)
Internal storage
46 GB

Connectivity

Wi-Fi
802.11a/b/g/n/ac 2.4/5GHz (MIMO)
Bluetooth
5.0
USB
USB-C 3.2 Gen1
GPS
built-in GPS/QZSS + A-GPS
Webcam
USB UVC live streaming 4K30 / 2K30
Livestream
USB live streaming 4K 3840x1920/30fps/100Mbps; in-camera stitching + zenith correction
HDMI out
No
Timecode
No

Sources

Spotted a wrong or missing spec? Report an error

More similar cameras

© 2026 whatpocketcameras. Prices are launch prices (the maker's suggested retail price) and may differ in store. Camera and price links open an Amazon search.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.