whatpocketcameras

Choose the right pocket camera for you!

  • Ricoh THETA Z1 51GB

Ricoh

THETA Z1 51GB

Ricoh THETA Z1 51GB (2021) 360° camera specs, 1.0-inch BSI sensor. Video, stabilization, battery and more.

360° · Announced 2021-03-25

Shop prices can differ.

  • 1.0-inch BSI sensor
  • Electronic stabilization
  • 60 min rated runtime
  • 182 g

Video modes

  • 1010-bit (no badge: 8-bit; unstated bit depth counts as 8-bit)
  • LLog
  • HDRHDR
  • SStabilized
  • HL360° horizon lock
  • cropCropped
  • Recording limit (minutes)
  • fwAdded by a firmware update
  • ?Not stated, e.g. S? (stabilization not stated)
360° video
Resolution1 fps2 fps29.97 fps
4K 360 2:1

4K 360 2:1 · 29.97 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • '4K, H.264: 3840×1920/29.97fps/56Mbps'. Time per recording: max 5 min / 25 min; 'Automatic shut down if the internal temperature increases.' No 10-bit/Log/HDR video listed.

Source: ricoh.com/-/Media/Ricoh/Sites/com/release/2021/pdf/0325_1.pdf

2K 360 2:1

2K 360 2:1 · 29.97 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
25 min
  • 1920×960/29.97fps/16Mbps.

Source: ricoh.com/-/Media/Ricoh/Sites/com/release/2021/pdf/0325_1.pdf

3.6K dual-fisheye (unstitched) 1:1 per lens

3.6K dual-fisheye (unstitched) 1:1 per lens · 1 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
50 min
Firmware
Since firmware 3.01.1
  • Firmware 3.01.1+ (developer API); no audio; max recordable time 3000 s; dual-track single-file option from fw 3.60.3.

Source: github.com/ricohapi/theta-api-specs/blob/main/theta-web-api-v2.1/options/file_format.md

3.6K dual-fisheye (unstitched) 1:1 per lens · 2 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
50 min
Firmware
Since firmware 3.01.1
  • Firmware 3.01.1+ (developer API); no audio; max recordable time 3000 s; dual-track single-file option from fw 3.60.3.

Source: github.com/ricohapi/theta-api-specs/blob/main/theta-web-api-v2.1/options/file_format.md

2.7K dual-fisheye (unstitched) 1:1 per lens

2.7K dual-fisheye (unstitched) 1:1 per lens · 1 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
50 min
Firmware
Since firmware 3.01.1
  • Firmware 3.01.1+ (developer API); no audio.

Source: github.com/ricohapi/theta-api-specs/blob/main/theta-web-api-v2.1/options/file_format.md

2.7K dual-fisheye (unstitched) 1:1 per lens · 2 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
50 min
Firmware
Since firmware 3.01.1
  • Firmware 3.01.1+ (developer API); no audio.

Source: github.com/ricohapi/theta-api-specs/blob/main/theta-web-api-v2.1/options/file_format.md

Caveats

  • Video tops out at 4K 29.97fps 56 Mbps H.264 — this is a stills-first camera.Source
  • Built-in battery, no card slot (51GB internal only). Manual settings require smartphone app.Source
  • Same body/specs as 2019 THETA Z1 (19GB); 51GB version only increases internal storage.Source

Thermals

  • Video clips are limited to 5 or 25 min and the camera shuts down automatically if internal temperature rises (maker footnote).Source
  • Ricoh blog: Z1 USB live streaming continuous operation rated for ambient temperatures up to 30°C (not guaranteed in all conditions).Source

Firmware notes

  • 2021-06-08: 2.00.1: noise reduction / HDR rendering / Handheld HDR usable with RAW+JPEG.Source
  • 2023-06-27: 3.01.1: (developer API) dual-fisheye 3.6K/2.7K 1–2fps video modes added.Source
  • 2026-01-27: 3.60.3: dual-track single-file fisheye video (API).Source
  • 2026-09-08: Latest listed firmware 3.70.2.Source

Which camera is right for you?

RicohTHETA Z1 51GB (current camera)Not statedCheck price on AmazonAKASO360$199.99Check price on AmazonGoProMAX$499.99Check price on Amazon
Announced2021-03-252025-07-07Not stated
Sensor size1.0-inch BSI1/2-inch1/2.3-inch (x2)
StabilizationElectronicElectronicElectronic
Horizon levelingNot stated360°360°
WaterproofNoneNone5 m
Weight182 g180 g159 g
Battery runtime60 min60 minNot stated
Compare all specs

Specifications

Overview

Category
360°
Announced
2021-03-25
Released
Not stated
Status
current
US availability
Not stated
Features
  • RAW DNG stills
  • 3-step aperture
  • Interval composite
  • Multi-bracket (up to 19 settings)
  • Android plug-ins
  • 4ch spatial audio

Sensor & lens

Sensor size
1.0-inch BSI
Sensor resolution
20 MP
Lens (equiv.)
Not stated
Aperture
f/2.1, f/3.5, f/5.6 (3-step aperture)
Field of view
Not stated
Built-in ND
No

Video & photo

Video modes
  • 4K 360
  • 2K 360
  • 3.6K dual-fisheye (unstitched)
  • 2.7K dual-fisheye (unstitched)
Max resolution
Not stated
10-bit Log up to
None
Uncropped 4K
None
Codecs
  • H.264
4:2:2 chroma
Not stated
Max bitrate
56 Mbps
Photo resolution
23 MP
RAW photos
DNG (RAW 7296x3648, recorded as RAW+JPEG)

Stabilization

Stabilization
Electronic
Horizon lock
None
Horizon leveling
Not stated

Audio

Microphones
4
Mic input
Not stated
Mic input details
Not stated
Direct wireless mic
Not stated
32-bit float audio
No

Build & battery

Waterproof
None
Water and dust rating
Not stated
Drop-proof
Not stated
Weight
182 g
Dimensions
48.2x132.5x29.7
Mount
metal 1/4-inch tripod socket
Battery runtime
60 min
Battery capacity
Not stated
Removable battery
No
Charging power
Not stated

Screens & storage

Rear screen
0.93-inch OLED info panel 128x36 (no image preview)
Front screen
Not stated
Touchscreen
No
Memory card
none
Internal storage
51 GB

Connectivity

Wi-Fi
802.11a/b/g/n/ac 2.4/5GHz (5GHz not on some regional SKUs)
Bluetooth
4.2
USB
USB-C 3.0
GPS
via smartphone
Webcam
USB UVC live streaming
Livestream
USB 4K 3840x1920/29.97fps/120Mbps, 2K/42Mbps; 4ch PCM audio
HDMI out
No
Timecode
No

Sources

Spotted a wrong or missing spec? Report an error

More similar cameras

© 2026 whatpocketcameras. Prices are launch prices (the maker's suggested retail price) and may differ in store. Camera and price links open an Amazon search.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.