whatpocketcameras

Choose the right pocket camera for you!

  • AKASO Brave 7

AKASO

Brave 7

AKASO Brave 7 Action camera specs. Video, stabilization, battery and more.

Action

Shop prices can differ.

  • Electronic stabilization
  • Waterproof to 10 m
  • 80 min rated runtime
  • 112 g

Video modes

  • 1010-bit (no badge: 8-bit; unstated bit depth counts as 8-bit)
  • LLog
  • HDRHDR
  • SStabilized
  • HL360° horizon lock
  • cropCropped
  • Recording limit (minutes)
  • fwAdded by a firmware update
  • ?Not stated, e.g. S? (stabilization not stated)
Flat video
Resolution30 fps60 fps120 fps
4K 16:9

4K 16:9 · 30 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Mode list from current '19D' manual V1.1; codec H.265 default / H.264 selectable. 'H.264 video encoding is automatically disabled when 4K60 resolution is selected'; 4K60 not supported in Vertical Mode. Product page lists only 4K30.

Source: akasotech.com/imageApi/support//user_manual_pictures/Brave7%2019D/brave7(19d)_en.pdf

4K 16:9 · 60 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Mode list from current '19D' manual V1.1; codec H.265 default / H.264 selectable. 'H.264 video encoding is automatically disabled when 4K60 resolution is selected'; 4K60 not supported in Vertical Mode. Product page lists only 4K30.

Source: akasotech.com/imageApi/support//user_manual_pictures/Brave7%2019D/brave7(19d)_en.pdf

2.7K 16:9

2.7K 16:9 · 30 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Mode list from current '19D' manual V1.1; codec H.265 default / H.264 selectable.

Source: akasotech.com/imageApi/support//user_manual_pictures/Brave7%2019D/brave7(19d)_en.pdf

2.7K 16:9 · 60 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Mode list from current '19D' manual V1.1; codec H.265 default / H.264 selectable.

Source: akasotech.com/imageApi/support//user_manual_pictures/Brave7%2019D/brave7(19d)_en.pdf

1440p

1440p · 30 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Mode list from current '19D' manual V1.1; codec H.265 default / H.264 selectable.

Source: akasotech.com/imageApi/support//user_manual_pictures/Brave7%2019D/brave7(19d)_en.pdf

1440p · 60 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Mode list from current '19D' manual V1.1; codec H.265 default / H.264 selectable.

Source: akasotech.com/imageApi/support//user_manual_pictures/Brave7%2019D/brave7(19d)_en.pdf

1080p 16:9

1080p 16:9 · 30 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Mode list from current '19D' manual V1.1; codec H.265 default / H.264 selectable.

Source: akasotech.com/imageApi/support//user_manual_pictures/Brave7%2019D/brave7(19d)_en.pdf

1080p 16:9 · 60 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Mode list from current '19D' manual V1.1; codec H.265 default / H.264 selectable.

Source: akasotech.com/imageApi/support//user_manual_pictures/Brave7%2019D/brave7(19d)_en.pdf

1080p 16:9 · 120 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
None
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Stabilization: Image stabilization disabled at 1080P120
  • Mode list from current '19D' manual V1.1; codec H.265 default / H.264 selectable.

Source: akasotech.com/imageApi/support//user_manual_pictures/Brave7%2019D/brave7(19d)_en.pdf

720p 16:9

720p 16:9 · 30 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Mode list from current '19D' manual V1.1; codec H.265 default / H.264 selectable. Product page also lists 720P240.

Source: akasotech.com/imageApi/support//user_manual_pictures/Brave7%2019D/brave7(19d)_en.pdf

720p 16:9 · 60 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Mode list from current '19D' manual V1.1; codec H.265 default / H.264 selectable. Product page also lists 720P240.

Source: akasotech.com/imageApi/support//user_manual_pictures/Brave7%2019D/brave7(19d)_en.pdf

720p 16:9 · 120 fps

Bit depth
8-bit (bit depth not stated; assumed)
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
None
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Stabilization: Image stabilization disabled at 720P120
  • Mode list from current '19D' manual V1.1; codec H.265 default / H.264 selectable. Product page also lists 720P240.

Source: akasotech.com/imageApi/support//user_manual_pictures/Brave7%2019D/brave7(19d)_en.pdf

Caveats

  • Spec drift between revisions: product page lists max 4K30 and 720P240, while the current '19D' manual lists 4K60 (H.265 only), 1440P and 720P max 120. Treat 4K60 as revision/firmware-dependent.Source
  • No native sensor size or resolution published by AKASO; 20MP photo figure is a maker claim only.Source
  • Camera does not record sound in the waterproof case.Source
  • Dark Light Mode only at 2.7K60, 1440P60, 1080P120/60, 720P120/60 and disabled when stabilization is on.Source

Which camera is right for you?

AKASOBrave 7 (current camera)Not statedCheck price on AmazonAKASOBrave 8$289Check price on AmazonDJIOsmo Action 3$329Check price on Amazon
AnnouncedNot statedNot stated2022-09-14
Sensor sizeNot stated1/2-inch1/1.7-inch
StabilizationElectronicElectronicElectronic
Horizon levelingNot statedNot stated360°
Waterproof10 m10 m16 m
Weight112 g114.8 g145 g
Battery runtime80 min90 min160 min
Compare all specs

Specifications

Overview

Category
Action
Announced
Not stated
Released
Not stated
Status
current
US availability
Not stated
Features
  • Dual color screens
  • Voice control
  • Pre-Rec up to 10s
  • HindSight (product page: up to 15s)
  • Dark Light Mode
  • Distortion calibration
  • Remote control included
  • Looping video

Sensor & lens

Sensor size
Not stated
Sensor resolution
Not stated
Lens (equiv.)
Not stated
Aperture
Not stated
Field of view
Not stated
Built-in ND
Not stated

Video & photo

Video modes
  • 4K
  • 2.7K
  • 1440p
  • 1080p
  • 720p
Max resolution
4K603840×2160
10-bit Log up to
None
Uncropped 4K
4K60
Codecs
  • H.264
  • H.265
4:2:2 chroma
Not stated
Max bitrate
Not stated
Photo resolution
20 MP
RAW photos
JPEG+DNG (not in vertical/interval)

Stabilization

Stabilization
Electronic
Horizon lock
Not stated
Horizon leveling
Not stated

Audio

Microphones
Not stated
Mic input
  • USB-C
Mic input details
USB-C external microphone (sold separately)
Direct wireless mic
Not stated
32-bit float audio
Not stated

Build & battery

Waterproof
10 m
Water and dust rating
Not stated
Drop-proof
Not stated
Weight
112 g
Dimensions
66x46x33
Mount
frame (GoPro-style mounts)
Battery runtime
80 min
Battery capacity
1350 mAh
Removable battery
Yes
Charging power
Not stated

Screens & storage

Rear screen
touchscreen
Front screen
color front screen (no touch)
Touchscreen
Yes
Memory card
microSD (U3)
Internal storage
Not stated

Connectivity

Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 2.4GHz
Bluetooth
Not stated
USB
USB-C
GPS
Not stated
Webcam
UVC webcam, default 4K30
Livestream
Not stated
HDMI out
Not stated
Timecode
Not stated

Sources

Spotted a wrong or missing spec? Report an error

More similar cameras

© 2026 whatpocketcameras. Prices are launch prices (the maker's suggested retail price) and may differ in store. Camera and price links open an Amazon search.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.