whatpocketcameras

Choose the right pocket camera for you!

  • Sony ZV-1

Sony

ZV-1

Sony ZV-1 (2020) Compact camera specs, 1-inch sensor, $799 launch price. Video, stabilization, battery and more.

Compact · Announced 2020-05-26

Launch price $799

Check price on Amazon

Shop prices can differ.

  • 1-inch sensor
  • Optical + Electronic stabilization
  • Built-in ND filter
  • 75 min rated runtime
  • 294 g

Video modes

  • 1010-bit (no badge: 8-bit; unstated bit depth counts as 8-bit)
  • LLog
  • HDRHDR
  • SStabilized
  • HL360° horizon lock
  • cropCropped
  • Recording limit (minutes)
  • fwAdded by a firmware update
  • ?Not stated, e.g. S? (stabilization not stated)
Flat video
Resolution24 fps25 fps30 fps50 fps60 fps100 fps120 fps
4K 16:9

4K 16:9 · 24 fps

Bit depth
8-bit
Log
S-Log2, S-Log3
HDR
HLG / HLG1-3
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
Not stated
Recording limit
5 min
  • Stabilization: Active / Standard / Off; 4K Active is optical with electronic assist
  • Crop: Active SteadyShot crop: 24mm equiv -> about 30mm equiv (DPReview, ZV-1 II review)
  • Log: S-Log2 / S-Log3 (Picture Profile) at 24, 25, 30 fps
  • 100M or 60M. Sony: '4K continuous recording is available for approx. 5 minutes (Auto Power OFF Temp. Standard), but can be extended (Auto Power OFF Temp. High)'. 8-bit (DPReview).

Source: helpguide.sony.net/dc/1910/v1/en/contents/TP0002870010.html

4K 16:9 · 25 fps

Bit depth
8-bit
Log
S-Log2, S-Log3
HDR
HLG / HLG1-3
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
Not stated
Recording limit
5 min
  • Stabilization: Active / Standard / Off; 4K Active is optical with electronic assist
  • Crop: Active SteadyShot crop: 24mm equiv -> about 30mm equiv (DPReview, ZV-1 II review)
  • Log: S-Log2 / S-Log3 (Picture Profile) at 24, 25, 30 fps
  • 100M or 60M. Sony: '4K continuous recording is available for approx. 5 minutes (Auto Power OFF Temp. Standard), but can be extended (Auto Power OFF Temp. High)'. 8-bit (DPReview).

Source: helpguide.sony.net/dc/1910/v1/en/contents/TP0002870010.html

4K 16:9 · 30 fps

Bit depth
8-bit
Log
S-Log2, S-Log3
HDR
HLG / HLG1-3
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
Not stated
Recording limit
5 min
  • Stabilization: Active / Standard / Off; 4K Active is optical with electronic assist
  • Crop: Active SteadyShot crop: 24mm equiv -> about 30mm equiv (DPReview, ZV-1 II review)
  • Log: S-Log2 / S-Log3 (Picture Profile) at 24, 25, 30 fps
  • 100M or 60M. Sony: '4K continuous recording is available for approx. 5 minutes (Auto Power OFF Temp. Standard), but can be extended (Auto Power OFF Temp. High)'. 8-bit (DPReview).

Source: helpguide.sony.net/dc/1910/v1/en/contents/TP0002870010.html

1080p 16:9

1080p 16:9 · 24 fps

Bit depth
8-bit
Log
S-Log2, S-Log3
HDR
HLG / HLG1-3
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
Not stated
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Stabilization: Active combines optical + electronic in HD
  • Crop: Active SteadyShot crop (Sony: angle of view changes with SteadyShot setting)
  • Log: S-Log2 / S-Log3 at 24, 25, 30, 50, 60, 100, 120 fps
  • 120p/100p 100M or 60M (continuous ~5 min spec limit at 120p/100p unless Auto Power OFF Temp High); 60p/50p 50M/25M; 30p/25p 50M/16M; 24p 50M. 120p not selectable in Intelligent Auto.

Source: helpguide.sony.net/dc/1910/v1/en/contents/TP0002870010.html

1080p 16:9 · 25 fps

Bit depth
8-bit
Log
S-Log2, S-Log3
HDR
HLG / HLG1-3
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
Not stated
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Stabilization: Active combines optical + electronic in HD
  • Crop: Active SteadyShot crop (Sony: angle of view changes with SteadyShot setting)
  • Log: S-Log2 / S-Log3 at 24, 25, 30, 50, 60, 100, 120 fps
  • 120p/100p 100M or 60M (continuous ~5 min spec limit at 120p/100p unless Auto Power OFF Temp High); 60p/50p 50M/25M; 30p/25p 50M/16M; 24p 50M. 120p not selectable in Intelligent Auto.

Source: helpguide.sony.net/dc/1910/v1/en/contents/TP0002870010.html

1080p 16:9 · 30 fps

Bit depth
8-bit
Log
S-Log2, S-Log3
HDR
HLG / HLG1-3
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
Not stated
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Stabilization: Active combines optical + electronic in HD
  • Crop: Active SteadyShot crop (Sony: angle of view changes with SteadyShot setting)
  • Log: S-Log2 / S-Log3 at 24, 25, 30, 50, 60, 100, 120 fps
  • 120p/100p 100M or 60M (continuous ~5 min spec limit at 120p/100p unless Auto Power OFF Temp High); 60p/50p 50M/25M; 30p/25p 50M/16M; 24p 50M. 120p not selectable in Intelligent Auto.

Source: helpguide.sony.net/dc/1910/v1/en/contents/TP0002870010.html

1080p 16:9 · 50 fps

Bit depth
8-bit
Log
S-Log2, S-Log3
HDR
HLG / HLG1-3
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
Not stated
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Stabilization: Active combines optical + electronic in HD
  • Crop: Active SteadyShot crop (Sony: angle of view changes with SteadyShot setting)
  • Log: S-Log2 / S-Log3 at 24, 25, 30, 50, 60, 100, 120 fps
  • 120p/100p 100M or 60M (continuous ~5 min spec limit at 120p/100p unless Auto Power OFF Temp High); 60p/50p 50M/25M; 30p/25p 50M/16M; 24p 50M. 120p not selectable in Intelligent Auto.

Source: helpguide.sony.net/dc/1910/v1/en/contents/TP0002870010.html

1080p 16:9 · 60 fps

Bit depth
8-bit
Log
S-Log2, S-Log3
HDR
HLG / HLG1-3
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
Not stated
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Stabilization: Active combines optical + electronic in HD
  • Crop: Active SteadyShot crop (Sony: angle of view changes with SteadyShot setting)
  • Log: S-Log2 / S-Log3 at 24, 25, 30, 50, 60, 100, 120 fps
  • 120p/100p 100M or 60M (continuous ~5 min spec limit at 120p/100p unless Auto Power OFF Temp High); 60p/50p 50M/25M; 30p/25p 50M/16M; 24p 50M. 120p not selectable in Intelligent Auto.

Source: helpguide.sony.net/dc/1910/v1/en/contents/TP0002870010.html

1080p 16:9 · 100 fps

Bit depth
8-bit
Log
S-Log2, S-Log3
HDR
HLG / HLG1-3
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
Not stated
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Log: S-Log2 / S-Log3 at 24, 25, 30, 50, 60, 100, 120 fps
  • 120p/100p 100M or 60M (continuous ~5 min spec limit at 120p/100p unless Auto Power OFF Temp High); 60p/50p 50M/25M; 30p/25p 50M/16M; 24p 50M. 120p not selectable in Intelligent Auto.

Source: helpguide.sony.net/dc/1910/v1/en/contents/TP0002870010.html

1080p 16:9 · 120 fps

Bit depth
8-bit
Log
S-Log2, S-Log3
HDR
HLG / HLG1-3
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
Not stated
Recording limit
Not stated
  • Log: S-Log2 / S-Log3 at 24, 25, 30, 50, 60, 100, 120 fps
  • 120p/100p 100M or 60M (continuous ~5 min spec limit at 120p/100p unless Auto Power OFF Temp High); 60p/50p 50M/25M; 30p/25p 50M/16M; 24p 50M. 120p not selectable in Intelligent Auto.

Source: helpguide.sony.net/dc/1910/v1/en/contents/TP0002870010.html

1080i (AVCHD) 16:9

1080i (AVCHD) 16:9 · 50 fps

Bit depth
8-bit
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • 60i/50i 24M (FX) or 17M (FH), Dolby Digital audio

Source: helpguide.sony.net/dc/1910/v1/en/contents/TP0002870010.html

1080i (AVCHD) 16:9 · 60 fps

Bit depth
8-bit
Log
Not stated
HDR
Not stated
Stabilization
Yes
360° horizon lock
Not stated
Crop
None
Recording limit
Not stated
  • 60i/50i 24M (FX) or 17M (FH), Dolby Digital audio

Source: helpguide.sony.net/dc/1910/v1/en/contents/TP0002870010.html

Caveats

  • 4K stops after ~5 min with default Auto Power OFF Temp settingSource
  • 8-bit only; Log and HLG are 8-bitSource
  • No headphone jack; wind screen covers power buttonSource
  • 24mm wide end becomes ~30mm with Active stabilization - tight for arm's-length vloggingSource
  • ND filter cannot be Auto in movie mode; locked at value at start of recordingSource
  • HFR needs buffering/trigger workflow and records only a few secondsSource

Thermals

  • Sony: Auto Power OFF Temp Standard: 4K ~5 min at 20/30/40°C; HD ~30 min at 20-30°C, ~20 min at 40°C. 'High': 4K ~30 min at 20-30°C, ~20 min at 40°C; HD same as Standard. (4K 24p 60M / HD 60p 50M)Source
  • 120p/100p continuous recording ~5 min (spec limit), extendable with Auto Power OFF Temp High; max session ~13 hSource
  • CineD: by default 4K stops after 5 min (overheat protection); with Auto Power OFF Temp High up to 30 min possibleSource

Firmware notes

  • Firmware Ver. 2.00 added USB Streaming (UVC/UAC webcam, 720p MJPEG)Source

Which camera is right for you?

SonyZV-1 (current camera)$799Check price on AmazonFujifilmX half$849.99Check price on AmazonCanonPowerShot V1$899.99Check price on Amazon
Announced2020-05-26Not stated2025-03-26
Sensor size1-inch1-inch (13.3 x 8.8 mm), mounted vertically1.4-type
StabilizationOptical + ElectronicNoneOptical + Electronic
Horizon levelingNot statedNot statedNot stated
WaterproofNot statedNot statedNot stated
Weight294 g240 g426 g
Battery runtime75 min95 min70 min
Compare all specs

Specifications

Overview

Category
Compact
Announced
2020-05-26
Released
Not stated
Status
Not stated
US availability
Not stated
Features
  • Background Defocus (Bokeh Switch)
  • Product Showcase
  • Face Priority AE
  • Soft Skin Effect
  • Front tally lamp
  • Proxy recording
  • HFR up to 960fps
  • Built-in 3-step ND

Sensor & lens

Sensor size
1-inch
Sensor resolution
20.1 MP
Lens (equiv.)
24-70
Aperture
f/1.8-2.8
Field of view
84°
Built-in ND
Yes

Video & photo

Video modes
  • 4K
  • 1080p
  • 1080i (AVCHD)
Max resolution
4K303840×2160
10-bit Log up to
None
Uncropped 4K
Not stated
Codecs
  • H.264 (XAVC S)
  • H.264 (AVCHD)
4:2:2 chroma
Not stated
Max bitrate
100 Mbps
Photo resolution
20.1 MP
RAW photos
Sony ARW 2.3

Stabilization

Stabilization
Optical + Electronic
Horizon lock
Not stated
Horizon leveling
Not stated

Audio

Microphones
3
Mic input
  • 3.5 mm
Mic input details
3.5 mm stereo mini jack + Multi Interface Shoe
Direct wireless mic
Not stated
32-bit float audio
No

Build & battery

Waterproof
Not stated
Water and dust rating
Not stated
Drop-proof
Not stated
Weight
294 g
Dimensions
105.5x60.0x43.5
Mount
1/4-inch tripod socket; Multi Interface Shoe
Battery runtime
75 min
Battery capacity
Not stated
Removable battery
Yes
Charging power
Not stated

Screens & storage

Rear screen
3.0-inch 921,600-dot TFT LCD
Front screen
Not stated
Touchscreen
Yes
Memory card
SD/SDHC/SDXC (UHS-I U3 for 100 Mbps) / Memory Stick PRO Duo
Internal storage
Not stated

Connectivity

Wi-Fi
802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz
Bluetooth
4.1
USB
Multi/Micro USB (USB 2.0)
GPS
via smartphone app
Webcam
USB Streaming (firmware 2.00+): MJPEG 1280x720 30/25fps
Livestream
via USB Streaming
HDMI out
Yes
Timecode
Not stated

Sources

Spotted a wrong or missing spec? Report an error

More similar cameras

© 2026 whatpocketcameras. Prices are launch prices (the maker's suggested retail price) and may differ in store. Camera and price links open an Amazon search.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.